rear camera used as the interior camera..

aksotar

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m new to dash cams but I was wondering..
would it be possible to use the Starvis 2 rear camera as the interior camera ?? plugged into the rear camera input but mounted up front… my understanding is that the rear camera has a Starvis 2 sensor so it has better pic quality in difficult lighting conditions as well as a slightly wider FOV..
would this also affect the bitrate and thus pic quality ?

would it be possible to use the Starvis 2 rear camera as the interior camera ?
You can use any camera mounted in any location you want, feel free to experiment.
Keep in mind using the rear camera as an interior camera, you will NOT be able to see anything at night.
Here is an example of what that would look like during the day;

as well as a slightly wider FOV
The actual measured horizontal FOV of the A229 Pro 3-CH is;
112° FOV Front
110° FOV Rear
122° FOV Interior
84° FOV Interior LED’s On

Front .png
Rear .png
IR Interior .png
Interior LED's On .png

Here’s what the FOV difference looks like between the Rear & IR Interior mounted in the same exact location;

Here’s what the Rear looks like at night;

would this also affect the bitrate

The Front camera’s Bitrate is approximately 60Mbps in 1-CH, 2-CH REAR configuration.
However, when you connect the IR Interior camera it cuts the Front Camera’s Bitrate in “half” to approximately 36Mbps.
Oh yeah, welcome to the club.
-Chuck

Only downside would be the rear camera do not have any IR light aid for operation at night, but mind you modern cameras can still see some with the ambient light of a town, but of course the interior being flooded with IR light would be much better.