Viofo A229 Plus (my brief review)

atomicorion

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Viofo A229 Plus
My last dashcam was a Mobius which after all these years, I think is about to kick the bucket, as the camera starts but sometimes won't record, meaning I have to unplug the power cable to restart it, which is a pain in the arse, and so I thought it may be time to look for a new dashcam. The plethora of dashcams on the market today is overwhelming to say the least, but after watching a few ton of dashcam review videos on YT, the Viofo A229 Plus piqued my interest, as I was impressed with what I saw in the reviews on what it had to offer, reasonable price and not overly bulky on the windscreen. The YT reviewer Vortex Radar did a quick review of both the A229 Plus and Pro versions, but stated the Plus had better night time video capture and so that's what I went with. Mind you, I've never tried a Viofo brand dashcam before so all I had going were the reviews and the features it had which I liked. Upon receiving the camera, my first impression was that this is a well built good quality piece of kit, from the cameras to all the accessories it came with oozed quality. Heck, even the box looked well made. The front camera(can be detached from windscreen) was quite easy to install, only having to route through under the dash and up the windscreen, but the rear one required a lot more work due to having to run the cable through the A and B pillars and finally snaking its way to the rear hatch. This was my first time installing a rear camera and had to be super careful so as to not break any interior trim as it was all trial and error, which is quite an effort and luckily didn't break anything haha. I must admit though, having the proper trim removal tools made the job so much easier, as I can't imagine doing it with a screwdriver as some do. The video footage(front/rear) of night/daytime captured from the A229 Plus was what really sold me on this dashcam while watching t