S500 “Virtual” Test & Review PP

Panzer Platform

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2024 Minimum Requirements: STARVIS 2 & HDR
If this is your first time reading one of my lame reviews keep in mind I am not a professional dash cam reviewer.
I often reveal my intelligence showing how little I know.
I have no education, training, or experience in computers, electronics, or photography.
I aspire to be the average “dumb guy”.
I have no idea why companies keep asking / sending me dash cams to test & review.
I continue to bring attention to unacceptable image quality performance.
Often times after spending 30 days testing a dash cam I realize there is nothing good I can say about the unit, and send it back to the manufacturer.
This time around I don’t even think the 70mai S500 is ready for an unboxing let alone spending 30 days testing it.
But I still kind of like it because I think the 2nd Gen model has potential to be a good rental car / travel unit.
70mai offered to send me some dash cams for test & review.
I declined the A810 because it uses a battery instead of a capacitor.
However, the S500 caught my eye;
After getting hold of the full specifications from the 70mai representative I declined this model too, but I think the 2nd generation with some improvements would be worth taking a look at for the rental car / travel segment.

Like most testers here I regularly get emails from the worst companies making the absolute worst garbage / junk products sold on Amazon, eBay, AliExpress etc. asking me to “promote” their product, and make a YouTube Video Review about it.
I would say for every for every 50 junk products, there is only 1 that is actually good.
70mai is not one of those companies churning out garbage / junk dash cams.
My top 3 favorite “best” Chinese dash cam manufacturers are;
1.) Viofo
2.) Vantrue & 70mai (tie for 2nd place).
For the most part almost everything else is counterfeit, junk / garbage.