DigitalCorpus

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Vantrue N4 Pro
I know I'm new here and though I've seen decent chunk of dash cam footage over the years, most of you have seen more than me. I've also done a fair amount of DIY DVR for terrestrial broadcast TV, such that I've spit out quite a bit of footage through fairly tuned x264 encoding parameters. I'm also a photographer of over 20 yrs and I work heavily under ambient light in low light conditions. Image quality is always a topic I've been interested in, so while what we get isn't a surprise to me, yeah, my desire will always be to see if there is something better. However, I do understand why various decisions for these IQ are made due to what the majority people want. @Jeff_Vantrue, if you don't mind considering the following request for additions to the N4 Pro's recording settings.

Requested IQ parameters:
  • Sharpening threshold, scale from 1 to 5: a differing level between two pixels that, once exceeded, determined if sharpness is applied to the selected pixel.
  • Sharpening radius, scale from 1 to 5: how many pixels affected out from the selected pixel affected by the algorithm
  • Sharpening strength/amount, scale from off/0 to 5: amount of added contrast/sharpness applied to selected pixels
  • Noise Reduction threshold, scale from 1 to 5 : Also can be known as "detail" instead of "threshold", though the effect would be inverted. As "threashold", if this differing level between two pixels is not exceeded, apply noise reduction
  • Noise Reduction strength, scale from off/0 to 5: amount or strength of NR algorithm
  • Bit rate, 3 levels of adjustment: everyone here knows what it is
Advanced Advance IQ Parameters
  • Noise reduction algorithm, Conservative or Aggressive: Conservative would leave low frequency detail present, effectively a low pass filter, whereas Aggressive would disregard the low pass filter.